Reverb Broads 5 of 31 – The Only Success

Standard

Today’s prompt: What is the one thing you finally did this year that you always wanted or said you were going to do, but in your heart of hearts never thought you would actually do?

Ever since I got past that awkward I-need-everyone-t0-like-no-LOVE-me phase, I have taken a lot of pride in my willingness to truly march to the beat of my own drum. However, no matter how many times I say it out loud, or quietly to myself, “I don’t care what other people think,” I always have room to improve in actually not caring what other people are thinking.

On a similar note, I try very hard to make my own happiness. There was a time when I based my own happiness, my own ability to have a good time, on the moods of the people around me. When that wasn’t working out so well, I vowed to myself to never let someone else’s bad mood bring me down, and to always do what I wanted, when I wanted, whether I had a crowd to do it with me, or to do it alone.

In thinking about what to write for this post, I realized, though I still have days when I allow others to bring me down, and there are still things I don’t like doing alone, for the most part, this past year I have held true to myself in my promise to make my own happiness. When I feel like going out, I go. If I want to be alone, I walk away. If I want to talk, I find someone to listen. I spend MANY less days sitting at home being pissy about having nothing to do, and when one place doesn’t make me happy anymore, I move on.

Naturally, there are days I could do a lot better at making my own happiness, but a lot of days, I’m pretty good at it. This year I have definitely stopped waiting for others and started heading down the path I make for myself, each day a new direction, depending on my mood and no one else’s.

“There is only one success – to spend your life in your own way.” 
– Christopher Morley 

ps… Funny enough, as soon as I was done writing this post, a came across this link. The world works in mysterious ways sometimes.

One response »

  1. Really identified with your post! I definitely went through one of those “everyone HAS to love me” phases. Also, really loved the blog post that you linked to..so many valuable lessons!

comments, questions, suggestions

